How to eat…

Fiona Faulkner

I’ve talked at length about the kinds of foods I feel schools should offer – but what about how these foods are served? With the School Food Plan due to be published very soon, here’s my menu of the added extras which could make for the perfect school lunch experience….

First, I’d love more schools to take a continental approach and encourage our kids to enjoy mealtimes in themselves (in my utopic world a selection of kids would help prepare the school’s lunch, and everyone would take a full 90 minutes to be served, to eat, and then to rest and digest…) I know, I know… timetables are tight and the curriculum must be met. But we’re in my world now, so bear with me…

Next, I’d love us to see school dinners as an opportunity for broader, non-curriculum based learning. Perhaps incorporate a lunchtime debating club (each table could discuss a topic, with a chairperson assigned, and each diner encouraged to offer a considered viewpoint). Suddenly we’d be teaching valuable workplace skills – negotiation and problem-solving – not to mention social skills such as listening, and boosting confidence for each child who is speaking their opinion out loud. How about creating and teaching a school democracy where each table discusses a proposed new rule – with votes being cast on the way out (hey, if it’s good enough for Waitrose…)?

Geography could raise its head with culinary themed weeks… or languages where diners must speak only French (etc) at the table – with teachers / volunteers on hand to help things along.

How about inviting inspiring local peple to head over and offer a lunchtime career chat: “How I became an actor / how I set up my own business….” type of thing. The kids would (hopefully) learn and be inspired, and the school would gain valuable future contacts, immersing themselves into the local community (in other words, kill two birds with one stone-baked pizza). Not only that, but imagine the *sponsorship / time-bank potential for your next big event. I suspect a lot of locals would be honoured to be asked to do this kind of thing, such as my husband was when he recently did a ‘radio’ talk at our kids’ school.

I had a lovely chat with Henry Dimbleby last year where he talked at length about the different schools he and John Vincent had visited as part of their School Food Plan project.

One of the things I remember most is his description of a school that had adopted a ‘family dining’ approach to school dinners. Essentially each table represented a cross section of ages, with older kids grabbing big dishes to be brought to – and (crucially) served at – the table. In this way kids retain portion control (which I think is respectful, though obviously needs to be managed) as well as fostering a nurturing atmosphere; let’s say for example that a Year 7 kid is being bullied. They may well be more likely to talk about this with a Year 11 pupil as opposed to breaking the unwritten rule of actually telling a teacher. Not only that but I bet a Year 11 is as likely to spot the signs [as a teacher].

What I also love about this ‘family dining’ approach is that different roles and responsibilities can be designated: somebody to get the tray; somebody to set the table; somebody to serve; somebody to clear the plates etc.

I recently had a meeting at my own kids’ school, discussing its new community kitchen. Call me idealistic (which of course I am), but I suggested that the dining hall use real cutlery, decent table cloths, comfy chairs – anything to create a home-from-home atmosphere.

This article from The Sunday Times has some terrific examples of schools doing an amazing job at lunchtime. Still not convinced? Head to paragraph five where it talks about exam results and behaviour.

I’ve said it many times over and I’ll say it again: good eating habits have to be learned and therefore taught. And since many kids don’t have the opportunity to learn these behaviours at home, it’s more important than ever to ensure these are taught at school.

As ever, @ChildFoodTrust and I would love to hear your views!

@fiona_faulkner

* “Hi is that [CEO of Business] who came to our school last year? Would you mind sponsoring our [event]?”

Food writer and broadcaster Fiona Faulkner works with us on our Take Two campaign, to help parents and schools get kids eating more fruit and veg during the school day.

One thought on “How to eat…

  1. The nutrition and quality of the food is critical to growing bodies but as you have mentioned – social eating, the saying of grace and appetising and well presented food goes a long way in encouraging children to be good eaters.

Leave a Reply

